Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:50 PM
interface2x interface2x is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 6,793
HELP! My TV just stopped working!!

Anybody here know much about television sets? I have a 32" RCA TruFlat television that I purchased in July 2004. About a half hour ago, I was in the kitchen doing something and when I came back to the living room, the tv was off. I tried to turn it on with the remote. Nothing. I tried with the front controls. Nothing. I looked into the "troubleshooting" section of the manual to no avail (one of the suggestions for "tv will not turn on" is to check the "parental controls" in the menu ...how would I do this if IT WON'T EVEN TURN ON??). It also suggested that I unplug it for a couple of minutes and try it again. I did that and when I plugged it back in, it made the sound like it turned on, but then it was the same as before.

I know the power works because the front power button glows periodically. Nothing else seems to work. Can anybody give me ideas as to what could be wrong? I'm definitely calling customer support tomorrow, but I'd like to see if any of the informed dopers here have any ideas on what I could tell them.

I guess the real question is ...why did this happen on 24 night???? Luckily we have another small tv that we can use, but damn this is annoying.
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:06 PM
Gfab912 Gfab912 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 44
I could be wrong but it sounds to me like there's something wrong with the infared sensor. Unplug the TV and take the batteries out of the remote and plug the TV back in and see what happens. Peace.
  #3  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:09 PM
interface2x interface2x is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 6,793
Still nothing

I can hear a really light high-pitched whine every couple of seconds when I replug in the television. Almost as if it's trying to work, but can't get it done. Also, anyone in customer service at a certain electronics store (has the initials C.C.) know if I could bitch and get a new set? My warranty went out last month and I lost the form, but if I bitched up enough of a storm, think it would work?
  #4  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:26 PM
Gfab912 Gfab912 is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Queens, New York
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by interface2x
Still nothing

I can hear a really light high-pitched whine every couple of seconds when I replug in the television. Almost as if it's trying to work, but can't get it done. Also, anyone in customer service at a certain electronics store (has the initials C.C.) know if I could bitch and get a new set? My warranty went out last month and I lost the form, but if I bitched up enough of a storm, think it would work?
That sounds like old "Murphy's Law" to me. I personally still think its the infared sensor. You probably have one of those crazy SONY univeral remotes that go blinky after a while. You'll just have to play with the on-set power button to get the TV back on. SONY's products are usually well-built that why I'm going with the sensor. Peace.
  #5  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:59 PM
Can Handle the Truth Can Handle the Truth is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 480 B.C.
Posts: 898
It's the End of the World!
  #6  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:05 PM
Tapioca Dextrin Tapioca Dextrin is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Staring blankly at my GPS
Posts: 11,874
Try replacing the batteries in the remote (or just press the "On" button on the TV itself). If not, it's new TV time, alas.
  #7  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:08 PM
Stuffy Stuffy is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: the Big Valley
Posts: 4,430
Can you see the number of the channel? Are you using a cable or universal remote? In fact do you have Cable/Sattelite? It sounds like you're on Input to me.
  #8  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:21 PM
interface2x interface2x is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 6,793
I'm using normal cable, straight from the wall jack. Works on the smaller television just fine. As for the channel numbers, I can't see anything on the screen - it looks like it's not even on with the exception of the blinking green light on the power button.

And damn straight it's the end of the world, I paid good money for this motherfucker
  #9  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:27 PM
Black Train Song Black Train Song is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,421
Try smacking the shit out of the TV.

I have a 32" Sony that's been giving me problems lately and voilence seems to be the only common language it and I both speak. (works for a while, goes out during incredible football catch, then re-occurs -repeat smacking the shit out of it here.)
  #10  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:29 PM
Stuffy Stuffy is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: the Big Valley
Posts: 4,430
Look at your TV remote and hit the 'input' button. What happened?
  #11  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:34 PM
Stuffy Stuffy is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: the Big Valley
Posts: 4,430
If that didn't work unscrew the cable and see if you get a blue screen or (unlikely for your new TV) snow, if you get a blue screen/snow Cable is the likey suspect.
  #12  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:35 PM
Black Train Song Black Train Song is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,421
Me?
  #13  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:36 PM
Black Train Song Black Train Song is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,421
I don't think my remote will reach interface2x's house, but ...ok.
  #14  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:38 PM
Stuffy Stuffy is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: the Big Valley
Posts: 4,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooves
Me?



I was talking to interface2x
  #15  
Old 01-17-2005, 10:41 PM
Stuffy Stuffy is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: the Big Valley
Posts: 4,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooves
Try smacking the shit out of the TV.

I have a 32" Sony that's been giving me problems lately and voilence seems to be the only common language it and I both speak. (works for a while, goes out during incredible football catch, then re-occurs -repeat smacking the shit out of it here.)

OOC, what's the problem with yours?
  #16  
Old 01-18-2005, 12:53 AM
danceswithcats danceswithcats is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Voting anti-obamanation
Posts: 10,300
Percussive maintenance is discouraged, unless you'd like an expensive doorstop. Modern sets cram many functions into a minimum of integrated circuits, and they aren't as forgiving as the old tube type sets. You could be lucky in that a sacrificial component has gone bad in response to a power line surge, it could also be a common problem that the local TV shop has already been apprised of via service bulletin, or you might already have an expensive doorstop. I'd vote for a stop at the place of purchase and see what they diagnose the problem to be.
__________________
Crows. Keeping our highways clear of roadkill for over 80 years
  #17  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:12 AM
Barbarian Barbarian is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: is french for rental
Posts: 5,476
Your remote probably has a bunch of buttons labeled 'TV', 'VCR', 'cable', etc...

Try pushing the button marked 'TV', then turning on your television with the remote (it took two trips to the shop before someone mentioned this was why my TV wasn't working last year...).
  #18  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:57 AM
Black Train Song Black Train Song is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,421
by Stuffy
Quote:
OOC, what's the problem with yours?

My TV, which is about 8yrs old, just recently started acting up. The picture completely goes out and I have to get up and smack the side of it, at which point the picture reappears.

I've already checked the connections so I'm guessing that either there's a loose component inside or there's something in there that's almost dead. I have no idea what it looks like in there.

My wife seems to think that this is an acceptable lifespan for a TV (8yrs) but I don't considering that I have older tvs that still work wonderfully.
  #19  
Old 01-18-2005, 07:04 AM
Scoundrel Swanswater Scoundrel Swanswater is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,109
It sounds to me like the tube died on you.
It is getting power, but the tube doesn't fire up.
This would explain the high-pitched noise as well.
If a good bang on the side doesn't solve it, you will need to have it replaced/fixed.
  #20  
Old 01-18-2005, 07:44 AM
interface2x interface2x is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 6,793
Yeah, it sounds like the tube tries to fire up but just can't get it going. Looks like a call to RCA and a stop to get a copy of my receipt tonight.
  #21  
Old 01-18-2005, 07:55 AM
Sgt.Pepper Sgt.Pepper is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 276
Something similar happened to us before Christmas. The TV would turn off at random times while watching it. We'd have to unplug it and plug it back in to get it to work. It lasted like that for awhile until before Christmas when it would only stay on for about ten seconds. It was annoying going through the troubleshooting steps with that time frame.

Anyway, I called RCA and explained the problem, and the operator told me some component in the TV had failed and that it had to be repaired. We took it in for an estimate, but the cost was greater than a new TV, so we bought a replacement. I just can't remember what it was that failed though. That would be helpful to you because the symptoms are similar. Regardless, be prepared in case it is the same thing.
  #22  
Old 01-18-2005, 08:05 AM
Crafter_Man Crafter_Man is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by interface2x
I can hear a really light high-pitched whine every couple of seconds when I replug in the television.
I'm guessing the high-pitch "whine" is the inductor in the switching power supply.

You probably have a power supply problem. Probably a shorted or open capacitor, or bad switching transistor.

Do you know an electronic hobbyist, e.g. ham radio operator, EE student, RC model junkie, or all-around electronics tinkerer? If so, I'd offer them a case of their favorite beer (or whatever) in exchange for checking it out. Just be sure they know how to properly discharge the HV before working on it.
  #23  
Old 01-18-2005, 12:00 PM
interface2x interface2x is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 6,793
Thanks for the advice everyone. I think it likely is something related to the power supply in there. I'm just gonna probably bite the bullet and have it fixed by an "Authorized RCA repair service". It's still on the manufacturer's warranty, so it'll be free, just a pain in the ass to get done.
  #24  
Old 01-18-2005, 12:25 PM
Scoundrel Swanswater Scoundrel Swanswater is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,109
Great, now the left surround channel of my lovely Harman Kardon AVR7000 receiver stopped working.
Looks like that one's off to repair as well.
I just hope they can fix it here in the Netherlands.
  #25  
Old 01-18-2005, 06:35 PM
interface2x interface2x is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 6,793
Sorry if I jinxed you
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2017 Sun-Times Media, LLC.

 
Copyright © 2017