Throwing a Rod/Piston

I have a friend who claims that his dad did something to the family car several years back that caused a piston/rod to be ejected through the hood and onto the pavement while driving on the freeway. I have a hard time believing this is possible. Is it and what could cause such a dramatic event?

I am not a mechanic, but my guess would be that this is extremely unlikely.

I’ve broken rods before while going close to 100MPH and all I got was a dead engine with horrible noise, but the engine casing was not damaged.

If you approach this analytically, you will see if the engine somehow had the power to eject a rod through it’s own casing, through the head and onto the pavement it would not withstand its own operation. Since the situation does not allow for additional leverage or energy in the system than there is already, most of the damage during an engine blowout is going to be due to the torque and rods/pistons have no rotational momentum. Most likely is that a rod broke and possibly cracked the cylinder/headgasket and over the years the story got blown out of proportion.

I’ve heard this from more than one person. Maybe its more likely at a NASCAR event or the like.

Nope, it’s an embellishment of what happened.

It’s more likely a rod would be shot out the oil pan onto the ground than a piston head being forced through the head, manifold, fuel intake, hood, and anything else in the way. NASCAR has 700 H.P. engines turning upwards of 10,000 RPM’s and even when they blow up I have never seen an internal engine part laying on the track.

It’s less an urban legend than it is exaggeration of an expensive repair made out to gain a little ego-building.

It didn’t happen. Unless the engine was running on solid rocket fuel.

BTW, thanks for bringing up bitter memories. :mad: