Ford engines: internal parts

We had to arrange to have the engine replaced in a car we have, a 1992 Ford Taurus, with, of course, a front-drive/transaxle. Apparently a piston broke and started rattling around inside the crankcase; we could no longer drive the car.
I’d like to know:
What kind of metals or other materials are used to manufacture pistons, cylinders, connecting rods, crankshafts, etc.?
Why would the engine do this, after two years of light to moderate use (before that the car was in storage for a while)? Is it normal wear, or could there have been an abnormal situation (collision, improper repair work done by a mechanic unknown to us) that started causing the piston and its connections to weaken?

Piston broke? Me too.

IANAE but I’d say (to question 2) it’s just normal wear, really. Fords aren’t exactly Ferrari’s, but then again they aren’t Fiats either. As for what metals, I haven’t a clue.

I’m not a mechanic, but I know of a couple of situations that would eat a piston in a young engine. First, if the timing belt broke, some engines will have a collision between a stuck-open valve and a still-moving piston. Second, an oil system problem (not enough oil or a broken oil pump) can cause a piston ring failure or a fracture of a piston’s wrist pin. An oil system failure probably would cause massive damage in the rest of the engine, too.

I would say that broken pistons are quite unusual. I have personally worked on a few cars that had the old “piston, meet valve…valve, meet piston” situation when timing belts broke.

Pistons are typically made from exotic alloys of aluminum, although some high-end cars have titanium pistons.

The cylinders are typically made of whatever the block is (iron), unless steel inserts are used (such in the case of engines with aluminum blocks).

The connecting rods are almost always steel, but I have seen aluminum and titanium.