Hoffman Countmaster geiger counter

I have a Hoffman Countmaster geiger counter. I was going to eBay it as part of my continuing ‘Clean Out My Life’ campaign, but my partner says it’s a perfect prop for our film. So I’m looking at this thing, which is still stored in its original box and has the original manual.

The power for this thing is made up of eighteen 9v batteries and two AA cells wired in series, plus four D-cells in their own holders. 171 volts total. The manual says that the high voltage check should be 900 to 975 vdc. I assume there is a transformer inside?

Does anyone know what kind of batteries this geiger counter originally used (c. 1955)? Was it common practice to use ‘build-it-yourself’ batteries? Or are the 9v batteries an attempt by someone to replicate the original power supply? I’m not an electronics technician, so I can’t read the schematic; but I see BT1 15v, BT2 & BT3 75v each, and BT4 1.5v.

What are the odds this thing – now 50 years old – still works?

:smack: This was supposed to be in GQ!

Will someone please ‘Report this post’ so a mod can move it?

Moved to GQ.

samclem GQ moderator

It wouldn’t use a transformer for a DC source but there are other types of semiconductor non-svoltage multipliers.

Johnny, I hate to burst your nostalgia bubble, but geiger counters were dangerously unreliable. Often, by the time it detected rads, the person using it had already had a major exposure. They also had, in your case have, a high incidence of injury due to electrical shock.
Hubby know s a bit about their history, from his haz-mat classes. Nothing about how they were set up though.
I remember, one of my Jr High science teachers had one. The battery was, as I recall very much like a tiny car battery, the old style, with a bunch of holes to put water and acid in. My memory of it is vague, after all that was 45 years ago.