Retaining soda carbonation

I have a friendly dispute: does squeezing the sides of a half empty plastic soda bottle help to retain the remaining carbonation (by leaving less air space above the remaining soda), or does this increase the rate at which the carbonation leaves (i.e. the soda goes flat actually faster) - or is there no difference at all???

thanx, Robert

I’m pretty sure the only way to keep the carbonation from coming out of solution is to pressurize the can. If you plug up the drink hole with an airtight seal, then I guess squeezing the can might help. But otherwise, squeezing the can wont speed up or slow down the flattening process. But, I’m just a dumb college student, I could have this all wrong, but I doubt it.

It seems to me that carbonation will leave the soda until it reaches some sort of equilibrium. It leaves, basically, until the pressure inside the soda bottle is high enough that CO[sub]2[/sub] is reentering solution as fast as it leaves. That amount of pressure is going to be significantly higher than atmospheric pressure, which means that by the time the bottle reaches equilibrium - i.e. has a high enough pressure, it’ll probably have reinflated the bottle anyhow. Seems to me, then, that you’re wasting CO[sub]2[/sub] reinflating the bottle.

Just my guess, though.

This question resulted in a rather toxic thread a couple of years ago. Here it is.

Squeezing the bottle will do you absolutely NO good in keeping the bubbles in the pop. If it has any effect it all, it’s a negative effect: if the pressure inside the bottle is negative, due to the flexible bottle “trying” to regain its shape, that lessened pressure will cause more bubbles to escape. Only positive pressure will keep the bubbles in solution.