My students can't name 3 First Amendment rights: sad or normal?

I am an English teacher, but I often give extra credit questions about current events, pieces of knowledge I think every American should have, or facts about government. They think it’s terribly unfair because I’m not sticking to English, but frankly, I don’t care. Maybe if they can get points for it on a quiz, they’ll start to be interested in the world around them and how this country works.

Anyway, one of today’s extra credit questions was, “Name 3 First Amendment rights.” Not ONE of my 93 students could do it. Several of them got two, but no one got three.

How common is this knowledge? Can most adults name all 5? Should I be appalled that my 12 and 13 year olds don’t know this, or is this fairly typical across demographic groups in America? I really don’t know what to think of all this, and wanted to get some more input. Thanks.

That’s sad. On first reading, I though the OP was talking about the 3rd Amendment. That one I could see people not knowing, since the Gubbmint hasn’t gotten arround to violating that one on a regular basis. But 7th graders should be able to name 4 of the 5 without a struggle.

BTW, I also throw out random stuff as extra credit questions in my AP Euro History class. My kids have learned to expect the strange. Last quiz had “When was the last year the Cubs won the National League Pennant?” and “Who shot Jesse James?” :smiley:

That’s both sad and normal. Heck, probably most seniors don’t know all three, though I expect more know just the first and/or second.

Ok, I give up. What first amendment are you talking about?

There are five:

Congress shall make no law

1. respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof;
  2. or abridging the freedom of speech,
  3. or of the press;
  4. or the right of the people peaceably to assemble,
  5. and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.