Ask the Seminary Student

As the title says, I am a first-year Seminary student at Denver Seminary. I will answer questions to the best of my ability, but be aware that I probably won’t have all the answers to questions that might come up.

For a little background, I am pursuing a Masters of Divinity degree, specializing in Youth and Family Ministry, planning on being a youth pastor. My undergraduate degree is a B.S. in Engineering Physics from the Colorado School of Mines (I know, odd career choice, if you ask, I would love to tell you the story there).

Ask away!

What religious denomination is Denver Seminary?

From the Denver Seminary website:

A little research shows that Denver Seminary is essentially a conservative fundamentalist institution with some rather questionable positions on issues like ID/Creationism and homosexuality.

Mines, do you believe, as is the position of the Seminary, that homosexuality is sexually “deviant” and that it requires "treatment?

Do you accept evolutionary theory and common descent or do you subsrcibe to some variety of Creationism or ID?

Why, yes, I am a bit curious about this, if you wouldn’t mind explaining. If only because my undergraduate degree is in the humanities, but I’ve spent most of my career since in various IT jobs.

Ah, seminaries. My parents went to one when I was a little kid and I have many memories of those days. Do you and your friends make little knowing jokes about various prophets till it’s annoying? What is your gender?

Who said “Let there be God?”

I can’t understand how one could have a clear understanding of the laws of physics and and at the same time take the Bible seriously.

For example, what would you tell the youth about the story that the Sun “stood still” in the story, I believe, of Joshua and the battle of Jecicho?

You do know that you’re waving red meat in the lions den, dont’cha?