Ask the singer

Eh, why not. Inspired by the thread in IMHO.
(Important disclaimer!

I’m not a professional singer. I have voice training, and I’ve been in several choirs and been on some pretty rigorous tour schedules, but I don’t do this for a living. If there are any professional singers out there, please, please step in and answer questions too.)
Any questions?

What’s your range and how long have you been singing?

How do I go about learning to sing?

Wait-- can one learn to sing, or is it one of those things you pretty much have to have an aptitude for?

That was my question, too. I’ve always believed with training, everyone can learn to sing - not great, but at least carry a tune, etc. Is this true?

What happens when you’re just not born with the range?

Tell me about your training. Do you listen to a singer and then try to imitate his notes? How do you know when you have it right?

I’ve been singing since I was… wow, seven or eight. (I’m old and doddering at the age of twenty. Help me!)

My range on the higher end is a high C, but it’s pretty screechy and you’d probably plug your ears; on the lower end, I can hit a low E, but only for couple of seconds and it sounds really strange and wonky. I work most comfortably in between a low G and a high A, which is a good mezzo-soprano range.
It depends on what you mean by ‘singing’. If you come in, say, sounding like a frog being violently murdered, there’s not going to be a whole lot anyone can do for you. If you can carry a tune, however, it’s just a matter of working on your tone, range, depth, and inflections–polishing it up, so to speak.

If you’re seriously looking into singing, find a good vocal coach or vocal teacher around the area; they’re generally not that expensive, and they’ll work with you one on one to develop your sound. Also, I have the Royal Conservatory of Music in my neck of woods; if you have something similar, go check it out–well worth it.