The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > The BBQ Pit

Old 01-14-2007, 01:11 PM

Fuck you, FlyLady!

And fuck me for needing you!

So, I'm a filthy person. I'm one of those people who can every so often mount a cleaning campaign, but who is incapable of cultivating clean habits and ends up right back at the start before you can blink. The awful thing is, I'm a good cook. I like to cook. So that means I have to balance a cutting board on the sink divider and leave all my groceries on the floor because the countertop is full of... suspect things. We play a lot of games of "What's that smell?" in my kitchen. And it doesn't help that my boyfriend isn't a clean person either.

Things are gross at my house. I can't ever have people over without a week's notice, and even then I don't get done what I should. I'm just lazy, and I've got better things to do. But I know if I could just stay clean it would cost a fraction of the effort, and if I could get into the habit it wouldn't even be an issue!

So, I misguidedly signed up for the FlyLady e-mails before, so it's not like I didn't know how irritating she is. But this is the first time I've said, yes, FlyLady, I commit to you. Oh my god I can't stand you you fucking cunt!

So tonight I'm supposed to shine my sink, which will get me in touch with the me I've neglected all this time. And when I look at it, that's the FlyLady hugging me. I can't possibly describe to you how amazingly pissed off I am by that one, single sentence. Not to mention the assumption that I'll be so satisfied and happy by looking at that clean sink!

Which leads us to tomorrow, where my job is to put my shoes on! (And keep an eye on that sink, you never know when it might get a water spot on it!)