Recommend a Free File Storage Site

I’ve been using Yahoo Briefcase for many years: these days, I mostly use it for files related to my graduate work. I get 30MB of space, which seems to be plenty (I’m currently only using 42% of it), and so far I’ve always been able to get it to do what I want it to, but it can be kind of buggy and I feel like it’s Yahoo’s red-headed stepchild. I feel “meh” enough about it to look into alternatives, but Googling “free file storage” returns 80,700,000 results – that’s a little overwhelming! :slight_smile: So I turn to the Dope for recommendations. If you use a free storage site similar to Briefcase, which one and what do you think of it?

Note: Before anyone recommends Google Docs, it only supports certain file types and I need to be able to upload any kind of file. That disappointed me a little, because I’m a big Google fan, but I guess it really is meant for collaboration rather than pesonal storage.

Another Note: Before anyone recommends using a flash drive, or another type of removable media, that won’t work. I really do need online storage.

One little bump for the night crowd…

There’s an article by David Pogue in the New York Times of January 4, 2007 reviewing programs for online backups (not exactly the same thing, I realize). He mentioned Xdrive, owned by AOL, which gives you five gigabytes of storage and MediaMax, which gives you 25 gigabytes.

If you use FireFox on all your computers, you could use the Gmail Space extension. It uses your Gmail account for file storage.

Since you’re a Google fan, there’s a neat little Firefox plugin called Gmail Space that’ll let you use a Gmail account as file storage.

You could also look into some of the Windows XP extensions that do the same thing. I haven’t tried any of them myself, but I have had people tell me they work pretty well.

Darnit.