Ask the corporate bank manager

The title says it all. I’m a manager at a large U.S.-based corporate bank. These days, I head up systems analysis for the credit card service division, but I started as a telephone customer service rep for retail products (checking, savings, CDs, non-mortgage lending and credit cards) and online banking. You’ll therefore find that I’m the least “corporate” corporate mofo you’ll ever encounter.

I’m starting this thread because, in my experience, there seems to be a lot of confusion about what exactly goes on with retail banking systems and practices, and many people aren’t sure whom to ask…after all, the telephone banker or branch manager may seem like nice people, but they may not be eager (or able, under corporate rules) to tell you you’re about to be smacked with a $30 fee, and explain the reasons why. I’ll be happy to answer any questions about the daily workings of banks in general, different types of accounts, transaction postings, customer service, and (my impressions of) the reasoning behind why banks do things the way they do.

I’m not affiliated with my company’s Securities or Mortgage divisions, so I’m afraid I won’t be much help with anything related to brokerages or real estate banking. Other than that, feel free to ask me anything you’d like. If you’ve ever gotten off the phone with your bank feeling thoroughly confused and unsatisfied, or if you’re just curious what exactly the “big boys” are doing with your money, post your inquiry here and I’ll answer as best I can. Ask away!

Okay, I’ve got one for you.