Ask a mathematician

Inspired by Omi no Kami’s ask a linguist:

So I don’t know much about Stats, Physics, or computers. Heck, I don’t even know that much Math.

BUT. I am a PhD student in Math and have been for enough years that I feel qualified opening this thread.

I study Set theory, which is a branch of Logic, though I used to be interested in Combinatorics (who hasn’t?). Any questions? I would understand if not. Math isn’t all that exciting, really.

I don’t know if this is relevant, but I’ve also been a teaching assistant during most of my tenure as a grad student, TA-ing mostly Calculus.

Naturally, people such as Ultrafilter, Mathochist, etc are invited to answer questions, should they see fit.

Is it true that once you get past Calc I that there are no more TAs that speak English?

No, they do teach Calc 2 in Anglophone cultures.
Not just for Frenchies anymore!

Have you seen the movie Proof, and if so then what were your impressions?

Didn’t see the movie. Did see the play. I liked it, though of course the Math doesn’t really play an important role. What was she supposed to have proved? Something about primes <mumble>, <mumble>, if I recall correctly. Oh, and the dorky mathematician archetype does of course exist, but he wouldn’t dress as well as in the production I saw.

What the heck is Ito calculus and what is used for? What’s a layman’s explanation?

How far can you get into math and still have applications to, let’s say, physics?

(I had never heard of it before you asked, but I’ll try to answer anyway :slight_smile: )

From wikipedia (a surprisingly good site for math definitions):

“Itō calculus, named after Kiyoshi Itō, treats mathematical operations on stochastic processes. Its most important concept is the Itō stochastic integral.”