Baking Questions

My dream job is to be a baker. I know, strange one. Anyway, with the coming summer vacation (I’m a teacher) I tend to spend my free time practicing some new sweet concoctions, and I have some generic questions, and I figure it might bring around some from other people too.

*Do most people differentiate with flour, or does pretty much everyone do all-purpose? Someone told me once cake flour will make all the difference.

*Do you pack the measuring cup? My mom always packed the dry ingredients into the cup as much as she could. When I was taking some cake decorating lessons a few years back, the instructor mentioned she doesn’t pack the cup, just levels it off.

*I don’t like the grainy texture that powdered cocoa gives frosting, but the times that I have tried melted chocolate, it seems the consistency of the frosting ends up a little weird. Any suggestions?

*Can you make fondant at home? I always look out for recipes (more out of curiousity than anything) but I only see references to buying it already made.

I can’t think of anything else at the moment, but I’m sure I will later.

My (entirely inexpert) opinions.

I’m not sure I’ve ever baked a cake not starting from a mix, so I probably wouldn’t bother buying cake flour for a one-off cake. But if you are serious about being a baker, buy some cake flour and experiment. Try an all all-purpose flour cake, try an all cake-flour cake, etc. Pay attention to differences in texture, flavor, etc. then you will know what works for YOU.

(Make friends taste-test if you want to know what works for others as well).

I don’t pack the cup with dry ingredients. Just level off.

No clue on frosting. Except to say that there are lots of different recipes out there, suitable for different purposes, etc. Try a bunch.

No clue on fondant.

My best and only lesson learned about baking- follow the recipe exactly. There is no “wiggle room” in baking like there is in other cooking.