Coca-Cola syrup as medication.

I have read that Coke is pretty acidic. If this is true, why is it used to treat stomach aches?

I haven’t heard this before, but if its just the syrup being used then its not acidic. The acid comes from the carbonation(basically weak carbonic acid).

Qualifications first: I’m a pharmacist.

Calling Coke syrup “medicine” is overstating it a bit, but it does have some carmative properties (in other words it soothes your stomach). I’m not sure if anyone knows why, but it is thought that it’s due to the combination of phosphates and glucose. In fact, you can buy something called “phosphorylated glucose” OTC which is basically the same thing without the yummy taste.

Finally remember that most sodas were invented by pharmacists or physicians, and were at first considered “tonics”.

About the “acid” - yes, Coke is acidic, but so are a lot of foods. The acidin Coke is a weak acid; in fact it is thousands of times weaker than the acid produced by the stomach itself.

When I was very little, my dad would give me Coca Cola syrup to cure nausea. Once when I was sick I remember him taking me to the drive-through at Jack-in-the-Box and getting some Coke syrup. It always did the trick.

I doubt you could do that now. The employees probably wouldn’t know how to just get the syrup, and they don’t care enough anyway. No idea where to get Coke syrup except for a fast-food place or a restaurant.

Johnny, at my pharmacy they have it “over-the-counter-but-behind-the-counter” ie, they have it but you have to ask. Your local pharmacy probably has some too, just not on the shelves. I don’t think its very expensive.

Oh my, I used to LOVE that stuff.

I’ve also seen cola syrup at some health food/ herbal stores. It’s not “Coca-Cola” brand, but essentially the
same.

I have always found regular Coke™ to be