Ask the flight instructor

We have a lengthy history of aviation threads here on the Dope, and I usually participate. But I can’t find an “ask the” on the subject of flight instruction.

So, if anyone’s interested…

I’m a full-time flight instructor in small, fixed-wing aircraft.

I teach both primary students (those training for a Private Pilot license) and advanced (Instrument Rating, Commercial, Flight Instructor).

Can you give me a ride? I haven’t been off the ground in two years and I need an altitude adjustment bad!

(OK, that probably wasn’t what you were looking for…)

More seriously - if a private pilot hasn’t flown for several years what is required, in your opinion, to get them safely back to safely navigating the skies? I intend to get off the ground again at some point in the future and I’d like to have a game plan for when that occurs.

I had a private ticket years ago. One of the first things my instructor taught me was how to recover from a power-on stall and a power-off stall. Certainly, not to pull back on the stick!

So, that crash in Buffalo. I realize both the captain and 1st officer wwere relatively inexperienced, but how in the merry hell could they know the wings were icing up, yet when a stall started, he evidenly pulled back on the yoke, and from what I read, did not push forward on the trottles either.`.

There are speculations that the pilot might have mistakenly believed that his tail has stalled. If that had been the case, pulling back on the yoke would be the correct response.

Ever flown a gyroplane? I run across ads for ‘build-your-own’ gyro kits, and plans, on a regular basis.

http://members.cox.net/arrio/gyrobee.htm

Sounds like a blast to build, but I’m not sure if they are as easy to fly as people claim. Does autorotation really make it almost crash-proof? If it’s from scratch or a kit, what sort of, if any, license is necessary?