Help me combat my rock & roll/popular music ignorance

Despite being a musician myself, I often find myself surprisingly ignorant of bands that have played an important roll in rock/popular music history. Maybe its partly due to my college years being prior to the Internet and widespread downloading/sharing of mp3s and the like. In any case, I would like to combat this ignorance – and you can help!

Name a genre or time/place in musical history (for example: the “grunge”/seattle band movement of the early 90s) then name some bands that fit in that category that it is inexcusable to not have knowledge of (for example: pearl jam, nirvana, soundgarden, etc.).

Any genres will do, even if they are very specific or obscure. Feel free to expand on or debate other posters choices. I can then begin the task of efficiently addressing the no doubt sizable gaps in my musical knowledge…

I’ll start this off with my example from above (please feel free to add to or correct my choices).

Genre/place in history: grunge movement of early 90s/seattle bands
Bands: pearl jam, nirvana, alice in chains, soundgarden

Southern Rock, late 1960’s and 1970’s, mostly southern US: Two essential bands - The Allman Brothers, and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

Alt-Country, late 1990’s, no particular place: Uncle Tupelo, Wilco, The Jayhawks, Son Volt.

Progressive rock of the early 1970s: Genesis, Emerson, Lake and Palmer, Yes.

British Blues Rock, 1961-1969: John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers, Fleetwood Mac (yes, there was a time they were cool), Alexis Korner, The Animals, The Yardbirds, Cream, and culminating in Led Zeppelin.

Yacht Rock - (1976 - 1984).

Michael McDonald
Bee Gees
Kenny Loggins
Christopher Cross
Toto
Steely Dan
etc.
*Artists may be cross-referenced with other genres, eg “AOR” (Adult-oriented rock), Easy Listening.

Industrial (Early 80s - Early 90s): Skinny Puppy, KMFDM, Ministry and Nine Inch Nails

Post-punk, late-70s/early-80s:

Gang of Four
Wire
Pere Ubu
Joy Division
The Fall