What do engineers do on a day to day basis?

I was just laid off from my job as a project engineer at a small manufacturing company. It’s kind of a blessing in disguise, because I really wasn’t happy there, either with the job or with the company. As a project engineer, I did a lot of talking to the customers, which I really not suited for.

So, I’m starting my job search, and I want to find another engineering job. I need to know what other things engineers do, both so I know what to look for, and so I can know what to say in interviews that I’m looking for. Because right now if an interviewer asked me what kind of job I was looking for, I would say “something where I don’t have to talk to customers, and I can just sit quietly at my desk working on CAD drawings or spreadsheets or whatever, and no one bothers me.” But that is probably not the answer that they would want to hear. I’d like to be able to say something more concrete, like “I was a project engineer and that wasn’t quite right for me, but I think I’d be very well suited for X.” And I just don’t quite know what that X would be.

So if any of you engineers out there wouldn’t mind describing a little bit about what you actually do at your job, or if you know of whatever websites or resources that could help describe engineering jobs, I would really appreciate it. I have plenty of resources and connections on where to find jobs, I just need to figure out what kind of job I really want to look for.

For starters, what sort of engineering degree do you have?

Whoops, I forgot to put that in the OP. I have a BS in mechanical engineering. I graduated from Texas A&M with it in December 2006.

I’m a chemical engineer, so what I do each day isn’t going to be too helpful for you.