The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2009, 11:30 AM
CookingWithGas CookingWithGas is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tysons Corner, VA, USA
Posts: 9,789
How do pop-ups get past my pop-up blocker?

I use IE7 and occasionally I get a pop-up even though blocking is on and usually works.

How does this blocking work and why does it fail? I am talking about navigating to a web site, and then with no further clicks I get another window open up with an ad, either on top of or underneath my current window. (I am not talking about clicking on a link that opens in a new window.)
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 10-23-2009, 11:41 AM
Sunspace Sunspace is online now
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Near the GT eeehhhh...
Posts: 26,673
My impression is that there are many different ways of causing a new window to occur. Possibly some of them are blocked, and others are akin to spyware in that the new window takes advantage of a bug or flaw in the software?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2009, 12:24 PM
Dripping Dripping is offline
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by CookingWithGas View Post
I use IE7 and occasionally I get a pop-up even though blocking is on and usually works.

How does this blocking work and why does it fail?
It doesn't work because it's Microsoft crappy IE and it fails because it's Microsoft crappy IE. Get Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2009, 12:40 PM
Lightnin' Lightnin' is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dripping View Post
It doesn't work because it's Microsoft crappy IE and it fails because it's Microsoft crappy IE. Get Firefox.
While this is good advice- I, personally, install Firefox and AdBlock as the first two things I do on a new computer- this doesn't always help. Even with Firefox and AdBlock, I do occasionally find popups. Or, more frequently, popunders.

Firefox doesn't fix everything, and IE isn't always completely worthless.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2009, 02:15 PM
HeyHomie HeyHomie is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Viburnum, MO
Posts: 8,344
The pop-ups that come up on Snopes a website that I go to everyday have managed to get past Firefox, IE, and AVG. They must be using some high-powered dickware.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2009, 02:20 PM
HorseloverFat HorseloverFat is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Web technologies are a lot more complicated than we tend to think they are. You can make pop-up or pop-under windows in javascript in a few different ways. You can also obfuscate code to fool blockers.

On top of it, blockers try to be intelligent. For instance, I may click on something that brings up a pop-up but because its a click-event (or whatever they are called in js) its not considered a pop-up. This makes using the web easier but might be exploited by someone who wants to get past your pop-up defense.

Lastly, I dont think anyone blocks pop-unders. Netflix is notorious for this. Pop-unders dont have the stigma that pop-ups have.

FWIW, I find IE to do just as well as Firefox in this regard.

Last edited by HorseloverFat; 10-23-2009 at 02:20 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-23-2009, 02:25 PM
CookingWithGas CookingWithGas is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tysons Corner, VA, USA
Posts: 9,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by HorseloverFat View Post
Web technologies are a lot more complicated than we tend to think they are. You can make pop-up or pop-under windows in javascript in a few different ways. You can also obfuscate code to fool blockers.
I am a software development manager. Although I do not have a strong background in web development, I have written some JavaScript, and have done a taste of J2EE and a bunch of PHP (none of it for production systems). I am asking the question because I was looking for a somewhat technical explanation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dripping
It doesn't work because it's Microsoft crappy IE and it fails because it's Microsoft crappy IE. Get Firefox.
Thanks for the opinion but this comes nowhere near to answering the question.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-23-2009, 03:20 PM
mlees mlees is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dripping View Post
It doesn't work because it's Microsoft crappy IE and it fails because it's Microsoft crappy IE. Get Firefox.
That may not be possible for someone who doesn't have all the needed permissions on the computer they're using.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-23-2009, 03:28 PM
Mindfield Mindfield is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Some popups are generated by Flash, which isn't caught by AdBlock, as that only handles primarily Java/Javascript-based pop-ups. Get FlashBlock in addition to AdBlock and you'll be good to go. FlashBlock requires you to give permission either on a case-by-case basis, or on a whitelist-basis to sites with Flash content. Using these two plugins, I haven't gotten a popup in ages.

Last edited by Mindfield; 10-23-2009 at 03:29 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2009, 03:35 PM
ZipperJJ ZipperJJ is offline
And Finn The Human
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 19,306
If you want a more technical answer, can you post a link to a page or a site that does this for you? One of us can check out the Javascript and tell you what it's doing.

Could be that it's not the web sites - your browser is infected and the pop ups are coming from that.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-23-2009, 05:46 PM
FoieGrasIsEvil FoieGrasIsEvil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Nasty Nati
Posts: 14,910
The Cincinnati Enquirer website always manages to get Netflix popups right by Firefox. I think ESPN's website has it too. I never can block Netflix popups.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-23-2009, 05:59 PM
Canadjun Canadjun is offline
Non sum ergo non cogito
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeyHomie View Post
The pop-ups that come up on Snopes a website that I go to everyday have managed to get past Firefox, IE, and AVG. They must be using some high-powered dickware.
Do you have Adblock Plus installed in Firefox? I don't get any popups from Snopes.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-23-2009, 11:16 PM
CookingWithGas CookingWithGas is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tysons Corner, VA, USA
Posts: 9,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZipperJJ View Post
If you want a more technical answer, can you post a link to a page or a site that does this for you? One of us can check out the Javascript and tell you what it's doing.

Could be that it's not the web sites - your browser is infected and the pop ups are coming from that.
I have gotten them on Snopes but am unable to reproduce the situation at the moment, will get back. It surprised me because I think of them as a device used on less scrupulous sites.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-24-2009, 12:07 AM
crowmanyclouds crowmanyclouds is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
These,
www.popupcheck.com
www.popuptest.com
might help narrow down the cause.

CMC fnord!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-24-2009, 11:34 AM
Shoeless Shoeless is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: The Sunflower State
Posts: 3,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoieGrasIsEvil View Post
The Cincinnati Enquirer website always manages to get Netflix popups right by Firefox. I think ESPN's website has it too. I never can block Netflix popups.
Today's Get Fuzzy is rather timely.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-21-2009, 06:23 PM
CookingWithGas CookingWithGas is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Tysons Corner, VA, USA
Posts: 9,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZipperJJ View Post
If you want a more technical answer, can you post a link to a page or a site that does this for you? One of us can check out the Javascript and tell you what it's doing.
The following link caused a pop-behind for Netflix

http://www.amctv.com/originals/the-prisoner/episode-1

The pop-behind window had the following URL

http://cdn.optmd.com/V2/67739/163236/index.html?g=AQAP9pU=&r=www.amctv.com/originals/the-prisoner/episode-1

I was unable to reproduce this, though, so it may be generated randomly.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.