Ask the foreclosure lawyer

I was, until today, known as Atomicktom. But, thanks to the good graces of the Dope’s intelligencia, I’m re-named (not that you were missing much, given that I lurk far more often than I post).

In recognition of my new user name, I’ve also decided to start this thread, which I’ve been thinking of for a while now. Given all of the news of late regarding the real estate crisis, I offer my experience.

I’m a foreclosure lawyer practicing in Florida. I don’t work for any of the biggest firms that are subject to the most scrutiny, but my office receives about 1,000 new referrals a month, and our clients include the largest mortgage servicers. My expertise is limited to Florida, and I’d prefer not to talk about any specific case.

Any questions?

About how much of its usual value will a foreclosed house go for? I realize that there can be significant variation on this, but you must have noticed patterns.
What are the most common causes of foreclosures? Too much house for not enough money, medical bills, job loss, something else?

Say I want to buy a foreclosed house, what should I know?

I am sure there is a doper named Holmes here !

:wink:

Is Florida a judicial foreclosure state? If so, how receptive are your judges to a “show me the documents” defense?

Once a house goes to REO ( real estate owned - the banks’ term for property they acquire), the bank generally wants to unload the property as soon as possible, since they now have carrying costs like taxes and insurance, so they generally will list the property for less than the appraised value, although I don’t usually watch the trends in prices, since I don’t del with the REO deals.