The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > About This Message Board

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2011, 09:04 AM
Lord Ashtar Lord Ashtar is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Something on the SDMB is blowing up my virus scanner

Every time I click a link today, my virus scanner keeps warning me that it has blocked the below URL (broken for obvious reasons):

http://http.cdnlayer.com/drivingrevenue/DR_v4.js
Reply With Quote
Advertisements  
  #2  
Old 04-03-2011, 09:21 AM
Lord Ashtar Lord Ashtar is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
So...nothing from the admins about this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2011, 03:18 PM
Canadjun Canadjun is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Interesting. I don't have a particularly good answer for you because I am not techy enough, but I just checked Adblock Plus. That exact script is currently being blocked by Adblock Plus on my machine (along with scripts from edge.quantserve.com, insight-s3.exelator.com, tap-cnd.rubiconproject.com, and www .google-analytics.com). Hmm...

Last edited by Canadjun; 04-03-2011 at 03:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2011, 07:53 PM
Leaper Leaper is offline
Charter Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: In my own little world...
Posts: 8,107
Found on Google, possibly useless, but maybe not: A reply from another message board where this popped up:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Admin of New England Street Riders forum
We do use Driving Revenue code on this site, it just appends an affiliate code to any qualifying outbound links. It's been on the site for over a year and it's been the same code all along so I think it's just a false positive.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-2011, 08:29 PM
chacoguy chacoguy is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Ashtar View Post
So...nothing from the admins about this?
It's fiiiiine.

You'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2011, 09:51 PM
TubaDiva TubaDiva is offline
Mother's Little Helper
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: In the land of OO-bla-dee
Posts: 9,410
Driving Revenue is part of the ad package -- this is probably a misapplied link/malformed coding on the ad side.

http://www.drivingrevenue.com/

Just the same, I'll report this up to Jerry.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2011, 10:05 PM
Gleena Gleena is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
It's pinging my work virus check, too, just FYI.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2011, 10:07 PM
Lord Ashtar Lord Ashtar is online now
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by TubaDiva View Post
Just the same, I'll report this up to Jerry.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2011, 06:50 PM
Canadjun Canadjun is offline
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by TubaDiva View Post
Driving Revenue is part of the ad package -- this is probably a misapplied link/malformed coding on the ad side.

http://www.drivingrevenue.com/

Just the same, I'll report this up to Jerry.
So why is that script as well as the others I mentioned showing up in Adblock even for members (who don't get ads)?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Send questions for Cecil Adams to: cecil@chicagoreader.com

Send comments about this website to: webmaster@straightdope.com

Terms of Use / Privacy Policy

Advertise on the Straight Dope!
(Your direct line to thousands of the smartest, hippest people on the planet, plus a few total dipsticks.)

Publishers - interested in subscribing to the Straight Dope?
Write to: sdsubscriptions@chicagoreader.com.

Copyright © 2013 Sun-Times Media, LLC.