What would your caveman job be?

I’m a Sys Admin/Technologist. I build, integrate and maintain complex business systems, like data centers, servers, storage, email, monitoring, etc. Obviously, our caveman ancestors didn’t have computers, and I got to thinking “What would I have done back then?”

My answer? Fire-maker, or fire-keeper.

Here’s my reasoning: I like technology, and being at or near the cutting edge of what’s going on technologically. But just having it isn’t enough for me - I need to be a part of it somehow. In other words, my love of tech isn’t satisfied by having an iPhone or other gadgets. I want a whole datacenter, and I want to run it myself. So, I think if we were in caveman days, I’d figure out how to harness fire, and keep/provide it for the clan.

If you’re a cook, that the answer is easy. Your caveman job would also be cook, since cooking is pretty universal to our ancestors. Likewise, a fisherman would still be a fisherman. But, what about Hedge Fund Brokers and webmasters?

What would your caveman job be?

Scout. I’d go out and find water, valleys, herds, and stuff like that. Why? Well, I like to learn, but astronomy and map-making aren’t quite ancient enough to qualify as caveman-ish.

I would be running the herd (tribe? gang?). Making sure we all had enough to eat and that the bigger cavemen weren’t picking on the little cavemen or being mean to the women folk.

Though I am a small woman, I can be very persuasive with the large, strong men.

(I work for a male-dominated software company.)

I would be a gatherer. I know where everything is, all the time, no matter what. Almost every day I hear, “Honey, where are my keys?” from the other room and I can always tell him exactly where they are without looking. I just kind of know where stuff is 98% of the time. I can also find my way anywhere if I’ve been there once before, even if it was years ago.