Pot Luck Sucks!

I have been a food lover/high-end cook for over 30 years. It is by far my favorite hobby. I am not a food snob (famous last words :wink: in that I enjoy eating anything that is thought out and well-prepared.

My big issue/rant is all of the Pot Luck lunches, parties etc. at this time of year. Everyone brings 10 times more food than anyone can ever eat. You then end up with all of this left over food that no one wants. And the spread? It’s a total shotgun approach of cuisines and dishes that end up a total mess.

Yet, when I have tried to limit the “bring-mass quantities-of-whatever-you-want” by suggesting a a theme and a sign-up list for main dish/sides/dessert/etc my friends, coworkers, family just end up ignoring it.

Anyway, I realize that this is a losing battle and I just now go along with the flow. I just needed to vent and see if anyone has any suggestions to reduce the waste and confusion of PL parties. Thanks.

I’ve been in charge of a few potlucks at work. Previous gatherings run by other people were what you describe – total shotgun, whatever-I-feel-like, random collection of food. When I took over I instituted the sign-up sheet. They’re always cookouts, with mgmt supplying burgers and dogs and veggie burgers, so a loose theme is already there. Still, I didn’t try to dictate “classic American cookout fare” – if someone wanted to bring guac and salsa and another eggrolls … who cares? But I did have the sheet divided into categories – sides, sandwich fixings/condiments, desserts, drinks, paper goods, etc. That gave plenty for the non-cooks to choose from, while avoiding having 23 sides and no desserts or 8 people bringing potato chips.