|
|
|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Is this PayPal/SDMB thing legit or phishing?
I have a PayPal account that, as far as I can recall, has only been used to pay my SDMB subscription. I got this email:
"So we can continue providing you with your account information electronically please provide your consent to our Electronic Communications Delivery Policy. Log in to your PayPal account and follow the steps below. Hello xxxxxxxxxxx, PayPal is updating the way we send you your account information. Please agree to our Electronic Communications Delivery Policy today. This ensures that we can continue providing you with your account information electronically, including transaction receipts, account statements, and annual disclosures." And so on and so forth. What's going on here? |
| Advertisements | |
|
|
|
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
It a phish. If you check the url on mouseover, it doesn't go to paypal.com, but e.paypal.com.
Totally bogus. Delete it. Paypal will never contact you by email. They only contact you by message when you log in. Last edited by silenus; 08-04-2011 at 12:13 AM. |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Are you sure that it is e.paypal.com? If so, that's just a subdomain, so I'm not sure how this particular phishing method would work. If it's something like e-paypal.com, epaypal.com, e.paypal.com.something.com etc., then sure.
|
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
By the way, I'll agree that that message smells fairly phishy. I'm just confused on how that would work if the domain is actually what silenus stated.
|
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
e-something. I checked it and deleted it because as I noted Paypal never contacts anyone by email. Ever.
|
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Yes, if it is e-paypal.com, that's likely someone phishing. e.paypal.com, on the other hand, should be completely legit.
Oslo Ostragoth, if there are links in the email to "login" or "accept", etc., then probably a phishing attempt. If it just directs you to log onto paypal yourself, without any links to "help" you get there, probably legit. |
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Legit or not, you won't get in trouble by going to the site on your own(no link clicking) and login as you usually do.
|
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
I don't know where you got this idea; PayPal contacts people by e-mail all the time for various reasons, such as when they've received a payment.
|
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
if it's legit and you need to do something then when you log on to PayPal it will give you a message saying you need to do something.
|
|
#10
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Y'know, so Paypal has your permission to contact you by e-mail. But you don't have to take my word for it: Quote:
|
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
It's legit. Go to Paypal.com manually, and they'll ask you the same thing.
BTW, e.paypal.com is their email sending server. Last edited by BigT; 08-04-2011 at 01:40 AM. |
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Yes they do, all the time.
|
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
Yep, I get emails from PayPal too.
What they don't do is provide links in emails, so any email that asks you to click on a link to log in is bogus. But send emails? Of course they do. |
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
It's possibly a scam. I got this email too, complete with link to click. Only, I didn't get it to the email address I use with PayPal. When I went to paypal.com and logged in manually, I got;
Quote:
Last edited by EvilTOJ; 08-04-2011 at 06:08 AM. |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
And they always address you by your PayPal user name, not some ambiguous, "Dear PayPal User:"
|
|
#16
|
|||
|
|||
|
I sit corrected.
But this one is a phish, because it's to "Paypal user," not whatever my name is on Paypal. And it's sent to my Hotmail account, which isn't the one I use for Paypal. So I was right that it was bogus, just for the wrong reason. Just like normal.
|
|
#17
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
#18
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes they do. |
|
#19
|
|||
|
|||
|
If you're worried - and you have Chrome as your browser - then when you go to the website just look in the address bar. It says (with a green box around it) the name of the company, and shows that it is indeed a secure connection to the website you actually intended to go to.
Another reason I like Chrome. |
|
#20
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
#21
|
|||
|
|||
|
I recently received an email from PayPal - to the correct email account - reminding me that my card was about to lapse and to register a replacement with them.
I ignored it the first couple of times then logged in to my PayPal account to find that although I had logged my new card with them, upon receipt of it, I hadn't activated it. Although I was at first suspicious it proved to be quite legit. |
|
#22
|
|||
|
|||
|
So, I logged in to PayPal and did the thing there. Seems legit.
|
|
#23
|
|||
|
|||
|
Sounds like there are two versions of this email going around - the legit one, and a phishing one that is pretty much a copy of the legit one except for bad links.
As others have said - legit email or not - you will never hurt yourself by typing in the url and going to paypal directly to check it out. make it a habit of Never clicking on banking/account related links within email - |
|
#24
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
#25
|
|||
|
|||
|
I received an email message similar to the one in the OP. I forwarded it to spoof@paypal.com and received the following reply:
Quote:
|
|
#26
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
I forwarded it to spoof@paypal.com, and hopefully, they can deal with it. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|