The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Mundane Pointless Stuff I Must Share (MPSIMS)

Old 09-27-2011, 08:33 PM

AMA: Former Walt Disney World Character Performer

A few years ago I worked as a character performer at Walt Disney World. The topic came up in another thread, and a Doper suggested that I start an AMA about it.

So, yeah, here we are! Through a series of minor coincidences, I ended up applying for the Disney College Program, as well as auditioning for a character role. Once hired, I spend most of my time portraying Tigger and Eeyore. I had one shift as Tweedledee (or maybe Tweedledum?), as well as a handful of shifts as a van driver. Later on I was cast as a Toy Soldier in the Christmas parade, which was tons of fun. Anything you'd like to know?
Advertisements  
Old 09-27-2011, 08:36 PM

How hot was it in those suits?
Old 09-27-2011, 08:38 PM
Charter Member

What about the smell from other wearers of the suit?

Do some characters get paid more than others? Like, is being Mickey considered a plum job?
Old 09-27-2011, 08:41 PM

How often did you get punched in the crotch? (And how often was it by someone above age 12ish?)
Old 09-27-2011, 08:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shirley Ujest View Post
How hot was it in those suits?
Hot as balls. There are no fans or ventilation systems of any kind. During the hot summer, it gets so dangerously hot that each outdoor shift only lasts 20 minutes before the performer has to be brought inside and another performer is sent out. In these situations, there are typically 3 performers working the same character. An average summer work day would be 8 rotations of 20 minutes on set and 40 minutes off. When it cools off, the shifts change to 2 performers rotating 30 minutes on and 30 off. Even so, overheating and dehydration are always major concerns. I would sweat so much that during each and every break I would drink a liter of water without ever having to pee.
Old 09-27-2011, 08:54 PM