The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > Mundane Pointless Stuff I Must Share (MPSIMS)

Old 02-14-2012, 08:01 PM

Did you get a (college) class ring? Do you still wear it?

This is one of those random topics that pops into your head.

So, did you get a class ring from your college? Why? Do you still wear it/was it worth getting?
Advertisements  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:22 PM
Charter Member

I got one, and I still wear it, at least on weekends. See, I'm a baker and my hands are in stuff on weekdays, so I take it off then and have it in a box on my dresser. Then I put it on for the weekend. Recently I had it "stretched" a little, sized up, as my knuckles have swollen some(it's been over thirty years!)
Old 02-14-2012, 08:39 PM

The MIT "Brass Rat" is legendary. I had to get one, but I rarely wear it -- it's like wearing a hex nut on your finger (and I got the Medium sized one)
Old 02-14-2012, 09:13 PM

I never quite got this. My last boss (a Mayoral appointee) wore his ring and I thought it looked a bit... juvenile. I was always tempted to ask him if he still has his ultra man lunch box too.

I guess for some people, these rings are timeless.
Old 02-14-2012, 09:29 PM

Class rings are a big deal at my alma mater (Texas A&M), so yeah, I got one. A big, honkin' gold one just like every other one for the past 50 + years.

I suspect it's a hold-over from the military academy days- the rings have a distinct martial feel with a lone star and olive/oak branches on one side, and crossed saber and rifle over a cannon, flanked by the US and Texas flags on the other, and the top with a shield over an eagle.

http://www.aggienetwork.com/ring/history.aspx

Still, it's a great unifying thing- the rings are pretty distinctive- the only time I've ever had mine confused with anything else was when it got mistaken for a West Point ring, probably because it was big & gold, not because they're that similar.

Oh, and I wear it every day.