What to do in the Bay Area?

I’m going to be in Oakland/San Francisco for a week at the end of the month. I’m going to be busy during the day for most of the trip, but I’ll have 3 full days to do things. I’m interested in food, drink (any place where I can get beer not available in DC is best), museums, etc. Anything quirky or off the beaten path would be great too.

For off the beaten path museums, I love the cartoon art museum, the exploratorium and the computer history museum in Mountain View. There’s plenty of good food and drink and several microbreweries around the area. What sort of food/budget are you interested in?

Are you a guy?

My ex tells me that the bushes at the west end of Golden Gate Park is a good place for a blowjob, as are the men’s restrooms in the Embarcadero Center. I have no knowledge of this myself.

Those things sound good. I’ll look into them. I’m pretty open when it comes to food. I tend to be a bit of a carnivore. I’ll be mostly dining alone, but I’m sure I’ll have dinner once or twice with a friend, so I’ll be willing to spend more then. I’d want to keep it under $100 though.

Foggy…I’ll keep that in mind, but I wasn’t looking for random sex with a dude.

I always recommend the City Guides free walking tours in these kind of threads. I’d start with the Gold Rush City, the Golden Gate Bridge, or one of the Earthquake-related ones. If you are looking for the quirky, I’d also try the Telegraph Hill Stairway Hike or Haight-Ashbury.

Do you want to avoid the “touristy” stuff in favor of quirky or do you want to combine the two?

Check out Johnny Funcheap for ideas. You may not be particularly interested in free or cheap, but they list lots of quirky events. For example, on March 22 there’s a Body Art Nightlife at the California Academy of Sciences, or on March 24 there’s the Dance Anywhere 2012: Simultaneous Global Dance-Off | SF.