Laptop in transit: Shut Down or Sleep/Hibernate?

Giving this its own thread.

Advice, please. Interested in maximizing the life of my laptop.

I’m a freelancer and I also go to school where I use my laptop in class. So there are days when I get to class, use laptop for 1.5 hrs, go to client’s office and use laptop for 3 hours, then go home and use laptop during the evening. (It’s my only computer. Win 7, 8g RAM)

Should I be putting it into standby/hibernate mode (which?) when I put it in my bag to go to my next destination?

Should I turn it off overnight or leave it in sleep/hibernate? (What is the difference between these two modes?)

I’m old enough to remember when you had to “park” a hard drive, so I have this learned aversion to carrying the computer around in a bag when it’s technically on. I can unlearn that.

Okay, generally the distinction is this:

In sleep mode, battery power is used to keep the memory active, while all other components are turned off.

In hibernate mode, a large file with the current memory state is written to the hard disk, along with instructions to reload the file into memory on next power-on. Then the computer is turned off.

I don’t really see any advantage to using either in terms of laptop life - sleep will create a small battery drain which might shorten the life of the battery a little, and hibernate will create a little extra hard disk activity versus booting normally, which might shorten the life of the hard drive a little.

If you don’t want the convenience factor of either, then shut the computer down completely. If you appreciate the convenience, then you can use either without worrying about them impacting laptop life much, (unless you’re routinely draining the battery down to 20% or lower in sleep mode. Don’t do that.)

This is my $0.02, at any rate.