The Straight Dope

Go Back   Straight Dope Message Board > Main > General Questions

Old 03-28-2001, 12:27 PM

Just curious what sort of work they were involved with. Building houses? Thatching roofs? Did they only handle making post-and-beam supports or something? Or did they cart rocks, mix plaster, etc.?

In other words, was this a specialized/skilled trade, or just another word for "day laborer"?
Advertisements  
Old 03-28-2001, 12:49 PM
Charter Member
Charter Member

Allow me to recommend David MacCauley's picture books, specifically CATHEDRAL, PYRAMID, CITY, and CASTLE. Very informative and enjoyable.

Basically, everything the stonemasons did needed to be laid on top of a wooden frame created by the carpenters. The the carpenters came back and took the frame away. Must have been a fairly thankless existence.
Old 03-28-2001, 12:54 PM

Although I'm not an expert on the subject my understanding is that the word "carpenter" probably didn't mean exactly what it means today. In other words, these people could build things out of wood (as opposed to stone masons) but were somewhat more gene.

I wouldn't think of them as common day laborers since they were what we would consider skilled workers of their day.

They could probably build a house, or a cart, or an ark... whatever you needed built that was primarily made out of wood.

What's harder for me to imagine is that 2000 years ago there must have been some source of wood in the Middle East... I'm just not sure from where.

A good friend will help you move. A really good friend will help you move a body.
Old 03-28-2001, 12:56 PM

They sang really sappy songs, of course...

Why do birds suddenly appear
Every time
You are near?
Just like me
They long to be
Close to you...

Oh, I'm terribly sorry. I thought the thread said "the Carpenters."

Never mind.
Old 03-28-2001, 12:59 PM