What are the bizarre things people say to you when you tell them what you do for a living?

I’m a veterinarian. I stopped saying “vet” after three consecutive people responded with, “But you look too young to have served.”

The other response I get is, “Boy, you must really like animals, huh?” :smack:

A friend of mine is an audiologist. She gets, “What?” a lot, but she says that she has to take it seriously on the off chance someone really didn’t hear her. The last time she laughed, thinking the “What?” was a joke, the person asking was actually hearing-impaired, and got really offended. (And people wonder why your health care provider seems so humourless!) She’s also had a drunk guy in a bar ask if being an audiologist meant she could fix his stereo. She studied linguistics as an undergraduate, and the most common question back then was, “So how many languages do you know?” (“All of them,” was generally her answer.)

It’s nice when you can have some fun with your answers. A few of my husband’s patients like to badger him about when we’re going to start having children (we’re not), and in the right context he sometimes shrugs and says, “We can’t, my wife had me spayed.”

“Great, now I guess you have to kill me.”

I was a musicologist. I got “what instrument do you play?” more times than I count, which was annoying, right up there with “what the hell is that?” I suppose I was overly defensive about having to explain my career path, but well, there you have it.

I was a paramedic. The usual first question was “What’s the worst thing you’ve seen?” Like I want to re-live that or even speak of it to a civilian. I usually try to divert with good stories like delivering the New Year’s baby or funny things that happen when the shit goes bad, like loudly farting when bending over when treating someone in church.