Tell me some things about oral Prednisone

I’ve got a killer case of acute bronchitis, coughing my kishkes out for the last 10 days or so. Went to ER Sunday evening to Monday morning. They gave me 5 days of oral Prednisone pills (among other meds) to take home with me.

Can someone tell me any words of wisdom about Oral Prednisone that you think I ought to know. I’ve often seen in mentioned, over the years, in various cautionary ways, but never paid much attention. Are there any special rules or cautions about how to discontinue it when I’m done? I think I’ve read of special rules for switching to/from one kind of corticosteroid to another, or between oral and inhaled, or something of the sort.

Does it cause rebound problems when I’m done? I’d hate if that happens, to start coughing again like I was last week or even worse. It was that bad.

Are there other cautions or useful knowledge any Dopers (heh) have for me about Prednisone. I’ve never used it before, and I’m habitually phobic about all kinds of drugs, as general rule. Or, if anyone can share any links to earlier threads or other useful web pages? I’m going to start doing some googlizing when I’m sufficiently alert and sentient again (but that could be a while). Any getting-started pointers? My attention these days if pretty much fully occupied just trying to breathe, and that’s an exhausting challenge enough just now.

I was on oral Prednisone for awhile to treat some acute colitis. The good news is, it totally put the colitis into remission. The bad news is, it made me gain thirty pounds and gave me a case of not-insignificant bone density loss.

Also, you can’t stop Prednisone cold turkey. You need to taper off. Which can take weeks, depending on your starting dose.

Other than all that, it is a miracle drug. Good luck!

Here:

Just 5 days is nothing to worry about, and you don’t have to taper when it’s just for a few days.