"Crossing Over w/ John Edward"- for real or clever con?

First off, let me say that I don’t want this to be, or become, an arguement about whether or not psychic abilities exist.
Personally, I do believe that some people have psychic abilities, or they’re just more “in tune” with things, if you will. I’ve had some experiences in my life that I would characterize as “psychic”.
I was watching a show this weekend, I think it was on MSNBC, about John Edward & the whole psychic medium thing. They presented views of believers and of sceptics. For a while, I watched “Crossing Over” every night (when it first came on). For those of you who don’t know, John Edward claims to be “in touch” with the spirit world, and he has an audience of people that he gives supposedly random readings to- messages from their loved ones who have passed on.
It fascinated me for a while because sometimes he was right on the money, he’d know something very specific about someone that only the deceased knew, and once he got an unusual name. I agree that the whole, “I’m getting a name that starts with Jo- is it John, or Joanne or Joan?” spiel is kinda suspect.
So here’s my question- have you ever been to a psychic or on Crossing Over & what did you think? Did the experience make you a believer or did it make you sceptical because it didn’t turn out like you thought?
On one hand, sometimes he is incredibly accurate. So was one of the mediums that was on the MSNBC show. But then, they don’t show the times that he had total misses. And one of the sceptics said, “I’d hope that my loved ones would be able to speak to me plainly and not use a game of charades.”
(John Edward says the dead speak to him symbolically- like he’ll “see” red roses and that symbolizes romantic love or something)
So do you believe in psychics/mediums, and what’s your experience been?