Common Core distributing PETA pamphlets?

Someone help me understand this, because I am 99.9% sure that it’s bullshit but am not all that knowledgeable of common core.

http://nation.foxnews.com/2014/03/25/peta-propaganda-used-fourth-grade-common-core-assignment

Basically the implication I’m hearing on facebook is that common core has this kind of propaganda built in. Is there any truth to this, or was this just an unwary or biased teacher inserting it into their class?

There is no propaganda in the Common Core. There are no required texts. As a teacher, I get to decide what my students read.

There is so much misinformation out there. Many complaints about the Common Core are misdirected and should be aimed at curriculum companies. In this case it was likely a choice made by the teacher. The teacher was likely looking for a specific type of text and felt that one would be of high interest to the students.

(I only read the first page if the article since my browser froze.)

Thanks for the answer. Also, maybe you can help me understand the other thing that person is blathering on about - they’re talking about how the common core allows for “approximate” answers in math (as if this was a really bad thing); any idea what that’s about?

What it means is that Obama is president and therefore Common Core must be bad.

Probably the Model with mathematics standard, which says that “Mathematically proficient students who can apply what they know are comfortable making assumptions and approximations to simplify a complicated situation, realizing that these may need revision later.”

From what I am seeing around the blogosphere, progressives have at least as many concerns about Common Core as conservatives do. (I will stipulate that the one raised in the OP is BS, though.)

My 4th grade son’s school uses Common Core. He’s pretty good at math and we talk about his homework and extra “math olympiad” work which use CC.