Supreme Court [declines to hear] same sex marriage cases.[plus further developments (Ed.)]

This is breaking news. Can someone break down what this means for the fight for same sex marriage.

I can’t find much online about this yet.

It means the bans that were overturned and then stayed pending appeals by the State AGs will continue to be overturned , so I think it means some more states (5?) will have gay marriage effective immediately, and you should see a lot more challenges soon - I think, I’m not a lawyer or even in the US. Overall, this is a good thing, but not the best possible outcome.

So, according to HuffPo, it means immediate gay marriage in Indiana, Oklahoma, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin, and they say this means in 6 other states “in short order” (I’m assuming states in the same federal appeals districts? circuit courts, I think you call them.) - which would mean SSM in 30 states + DC ! Just like that, it’s the majority of states. But they still won’t have made a national ruling.

Thanks MrDibble.

As much as this is technically good news, I’m more than a little disappointed in the supreme court for passing the buck on this. I mean, is there any way to get them to rule on this at all? It’s a little ridiculous, honestly - this is one of the most pressing legal issues currently in debate, and they have no less than 3 state courts demanding answers, and they just say “no”? What’s it gonna take?

Isn’t not taking a case, basically, ruling on it in the sense that it is saying there’s no merit in the challenge?

A few deaths, I’d think. There’s no way some of those guys are going to rule on this unless literally forced at gunpoint - it’s the lovely interplay between wanting to be on what they clearly can see is the right side of history, and wanting to side with “their” side of the political spectrum.