Did we have drug prevention classes in the 1970's?

I am doing a paper for one of my classes. The professor is asking if we remember any type of drug prevention classes. Now, I dont consider myself old, but my memory or lack of it…lol cant think that far back, especially on this. I remember watching a movie, it was called Being Stoned…we all mocked and laughed at the title, but I can’t remember exactly what it was. Does anyone recall this movie and maybe programs that I cannot?

Thanks for the nostalgia…:slight_smile:

I graduated High School in 1982 and we had them. We had teenagers who were recovering addicts come and talk to our Health class and a couple of scare films as well. I vividly remember one scene from a film of a teen being too wasted to get up the stairs to her apartment and throwing up white stuff all over herself. The background music was Somebody to Lean On.

Grew up in middle class America in rural Ohio in the 70’s and no we didn’t have any drug prevention programs, just some pamphlets that were handed out once a year in health class. Drug prevention classes were for those inner city kids; like the kind you saw in West Side Story. It was a simpler time and god we were naive; could happen in white America was the thinking.

Midwest, large city, suburban white middle class school. 1969 or1970

In 7th or 8th grade (age 12-13) we had health class. About once or twice a week. It was general info on how the body works, basic first aid, and yes,…gasp! there was a special day or two of sex education (boys and girls in separate rooms, (this was to encourage us to ask questions without feeling embarrassed, after they showed us “The Movie”)