How do I make a one minute timer?

Help! I’m working on a project with my son for his 8th grade class. The object is to design something to time one minute. Points are given for creativity and accuracy. No sand or pendulum devices are allowed. Anything using water must be unconventional and creative. I don’t think fire is allowed either.

I have to admit that I’m not an engineer with good ideas on this one. We have been trying to come up with something for over a week with zero success. I normally don’t ask the whole world to help with homework, but I guess I am going to make an exception here.

Any ideas are greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Pete McDonald
zpinaddict@yahoo.com

My web page is “Pete’s Excellent Home Page” Please check it out! Make sure your sound is turned on!
It is dedicated to Paris and Pinball information and pictures
http://www.geocities.com/zpinaddict

Why not make a fancy Rube Goldberg (SP?!) device that lasts one minute? Keep adding and subtracting things until it is just right.

I was in the Science Olympiad in high school and they had an event that required making these devices and they would have to perform certain tasks at certain times, and of course only last a certain time. Roll a golf ball down a few ramps, have a motorized “elevator,” and make it all last 60 secs.

Take a really long board and mount a flashlight on one end. On the other end of the board, 11,178,000 miles away, mount a light sensor. Turn on the light and wait for the sensor to register, at which point a minute should have passed. :smiley:

Seriously, the first thing that comes to my mind is some sort of gravity based device. Think of the game “Mousetrap”, but on a bigger scale. Mount it all on a large board, and make sure that the surface is level to reduce fluctuations in the time.

• dominoes: wait for last one to fall.
  • jar half-full of dry beans. add water, watch rise, wait for height to reach predetermined point.