Recommend some good books on architecture

My sister-in-law’s in school earning her architecture degree, and it’s occurred to me that while I know what an architect is, I don’t know much about the art form.

I’d like to read two or three non-expert books that will give me a decent survey of architectural history, theory and principles. I don’t want to become an architect, but I want an idea of the big picture. Single-architect or single-building studies are probably off the list for now, unless they double as good surveys of the discipline.

Anyone have any books to recommend? I’d like to avoid just picking up Architecture for Dummies – unless, of course, that’s actually a good book to start with.

Don’t know about general overview books, since I am also an architecture student, so all I have are the big books. But for understanding the school experience and the working world, I highly recommend “Architect? A Candid Guide to the Profession” by Roger Lewis. Perhaps try searching in Amazon under Architecture: History.

No suggestions out of me, but I’ll be aviding scratching down list of what other Dopers suggest.

My husband got his architecture degree from Michigan. He says that while he can build one hell of a retaining wall, his education was real light on theory and history. He’s an architectural moron in those areas.

We must have 50 architecture books at home, but they are mostly about specific architects, not the field in general. I suppose it might be interesting for you to read a biography of Frank Lloyd Wright, one of our homegrown guys who is quite a study in genius, creativity, hubris, and arrogance.

Tom Wolfe’s “From Bauhaus to Our House” is a short, very witty overview of how architecture went right down the terlet in the 20th century.

It’s opinionated—but since he shares my opnion, that’s a GOOD thing! And it only covers the late 19th/20th centuries.