My first foray into medium format photography (Mamiya C220), my photos came back!

Three weeks ago I was watching a YouTube video that mentioned Vivian Maier’s work; I had seen her work years ago but had forgotten until now. She was a nanny in NYC in the 50s and 60s, and she took amazing photographs with a 120 film twin-lens reflex camera.

I suddenly thought “Wow, I wish I could take B&W photos on film with a TLR like that!” and after a half hour I realized there was no reason why I can’t do it. I have shot film in my younger days, my mom was a photographer with a fully tricked-out darkroom in our basement, and I have been shooting serious digital portraiture for many years.

So I boldly ordered a Mamiya C220 twin lens reflex from Roberts Camera and a five pack of Kodak Tri-X. I sent the photos off to a lab in California to be developed and waited, gnawing my fingernails, until I could see my 3 depressing pitiful rolls of totally out of focus and poorly exposed photographs…

…but they turned out great!

Here is the very first photo I shot on 120 film in my life:

And if you don’t mind flipping through 35 photos (missed one somehow), here’s the rest of the gallery:

There appears to be a scratch on the negatives of the first roll of 12, possibly caused by dirt inside the mechanism or maybe at the lab. I will be inspecting very carefully.

Very nice! Mr. romans enjoyed the F-4 photos (or what he calls a ‘plane on stick’); he was a Navy F4 RIO.

B&W has that atmospheric quality to it that lends itself to certain subjects.

Thanks! It doesn’t take much imagination to figure that most of these were taken at our local Veteran’s Park.

The twisted metal was a piece of the WTC that was at a memorial for the firefighters in the same park.

Bonus points to whoever can figure out what’s with that creepy sculpture! (I know what it represents, but do you?)

I think it’s just a fire hydrant, but I agree it’s extremely creepy.