Short stories high school students should read

I’m new here, but I’ve been lurking long enough to respect the literary breadth of the Dopers. I’m a high school English teacher in a small school, and our literature books are old and boring. With the state in debt, there is no money for new texts, but I’m trying to put together some short stories that are thought-provoking, important, classic…
What are your suggestions? Stories that are in the public domain would be great, as I could print them out.

The Lottery” by Shirley Jackson

“Nightfall” - Isaac Asimov

“There Will Come Soft Rains” - Ray Bradbury

The Cold Equations" - Tom Godwin

That’s definitely one on the list. And Lovecraft’s Dagon.

I always liked Guy de Maupassant’s The Necklace and O Henry’s The Ransom of Red Chief.

Edited to add, Asimov’s The Last Question, but it’s not public domain.

The Most Dangerous Game

It’s a classic for a reason.

Cathedral, or many others by Raymond Carver.

*The Diamond As Big As The Ritz

• by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Edgar Allen Poe’s The Tell-Tale Heart

“The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

“A Logic Named Joe” by Murray Leinster.

Love is a Fallacy by Max Shulman.

No, it’s not exactly a “classic” and it’s probably not “important” at all, but it’s a great, fun read, and it’s wonderfully educational, using easily understood examples of classic logical fallacies. The narrator has a strong voice, and the writer makes some interesting word choices and sentence structures, which I think makes it interesting from a lit standpoint, and I’m all for increasing the critical thinking and logic exposure to high schoolers, even if they won’t formally study these things until college.

And it’s free.

PD stories:

The Lady or the Tiger” by Frank Stockton. Perfect for class discussion, too.
Anything by Poe. “The Purloined Letter” might be good
“The Birth-Mark” by Hawthorne
“The Problem of Cell 13” by Jacques Futrelle.