Charlie McCarthy radio ventriloquism ... WTF?

A MPSIMS fit for Cafe Society:

I was just reading the GQ re: the War of the Worlds radio broadcast panic, and one of the posters mentioned that it was on opposite Charlie McCarthy and Edgar Bergen. Edgar Bergen. The ventriloquist. With his dummy, Charlie McCarthy.

On radio.

WTF?

Does anyone else find this odd? How does one become famous and successful from performing ventriloquism on the radio?

But then again, I guess our grandkids will say, “Howard Stern had women get naked … on the radio? Huh?”

I saw some video of McCarthy perfoming, and well, his lips moved like a sonofabitch. Radio might have been a good choice.

I myself am pursuing a career in radio underwear modeling.

Well, if you’ve ever SEEN Edgar Bergen perform, you know that radio was the ideal medium for him- he was, without a doubt, the worst ventriloquist of all time. Look, I have NO talent or experience as a ventriloquist… but I’m pretty sure I’D move my lips less than Bergen did!

In fairness, many of his routines were very funny. But I’ve never seen any other ventriloquist move his lips so blatantly. Even rank amateurs do a better job.

The whole point of having a ventriloquist on the radio was its oddness—people appreciated bizarre concepts back then, too! It was the writing that mattered, not the lip-moving; and the writing was delightful. Charlie was a funny, nasty little SOB.

Bergen was technically quite poor as a ventriloquist – his lips moved so often that Charlie often joked about it. He was, however, one of the greatest practitioners of the art, primarily because of the quality of his routines. Many people were better technically, but few were as entertaining.

After all, “his lips didn’t move” is hardly the material for a five minute act, let alone a career. Any ventriloquist need to be able to perform material.