21st Century Philosophy

I’m no expert on the history of philosophy by any means, but from my amateur readings it’s apparent that the theory of evolution had some degree or other of influence on subsequent philosophical thought (ie. creating less of a need for deism and thus freeing things up a bit for existentialism). Nonetheless, most books, websites, etc. that offer info a la “Philosophy 101” for beginners don’t tend to offer much post-Sartre. I’m interested in the possibility that the Computer Age may have a reductive influence on the course of philosophy in the next century, insofar that the “if-then” structure of PC programming and hence the way we interact with them may spill over into the way we think (a la the “osmosis” effect Darwinism seemed to have 100 years ago). If anyone has any cites or ideas along these lines I’d like to hear them.

SAaustinTx,

You might try looking at some of Daniel Dennett’s recent work; more specifically Freedom Evolves.

Here’s an interview with Dennett discussing his theory on how evolution generates free will.

SAustinTx,

Here’s another link that might be helpful.

In their book An Incomplete Education (New York: Ballantine Books, 1987), Judy Jones and William Wilson try to give a thumbnail sketch of all the knowledge you need to be a sophisticated New York intellectual. In the chapter on “Philosophy,” they give brief bios and content-summaries of every major philosopher from Plato to . . . John Dewey, who died in 1952. They don’t mention Bertrand Russell, or Jean-Paul Sartre, let alone any later thinker. (Not in that section, anyway, although there is, later in the chapter, a blurb on poststructuralism.) I always wondered why.

Aren’t their any philosophers alive and writing NOW who will someday be ranked with Plato, Aristotle, etc.?