Home Networking

We are in the planning stages of getting a house built. I’m looking into getting the house pre-wired with ethernet cables so I can network computers around the house, and I have some questions.

I was thinking about having ethernet jacks on the walls, so I could just plug a regular ethernet cable into them and have it work. Who would do something like this? How do I tell the builder what exactly it is I want? Does anyone know around how much this will cost?

Would a better way to do this be wireless networking? How reliable is it now? Would it be as fast as regular ethernet?

Thank y’all for your help.

Around here it’s called structured wiring. I’m an installer and the place I contract to uses several different products. Essentially what happens is for each desired location we run 2 Cat 5e and 2 coaxial RG6 lines. You can mix and match however you like or just add single runs to other rooms also. All the lines run back to a panel in the basement. Each panel has several options as to what type of toys you want inside. You can have just a basic phone and cable set up or have an amplified video module and integrated network hub. Most people I’ve seen just get the builder’s standard starter module and stick a Linksys hub in the panel.

Here are a couple of links to products I’m familiar with.

http://www.homedirector.com/
http://www.leviton.com/lin/index.html
I like the Leviton stuff better than the Homedirector stuff. I also just saw some samples of a GE product and another that I can’t remember the name of. I still like the Leviton gear better.

Your builder should know somebody that offers this type of wiring as an option package if they don’t already include it as a standard.