How fast can substances pass through your body?

Don’t laugh, this is a serious question.

About an hour ago I ate a meal, I didn’t have much time - it was just noodles with prawns and some random stir fry sauce, (I’m a student, sue me).

But literally the moment I finished eating I needed to ah, expunge myself.

Which makes me think, did i actually get any nutrition from that meal? Or did it just go in one end then out the other - yet I don’t feel hungry.

Does this happen to anyone else?

Not that fast. Even when I’ve had picolax, a pre-op “bowel cleanser”, it’s taken half an hour to an hour to start doing it’s thing.

Pretty damn fast. Under certain circumstances (such as extremely hypermobile bowels, or at the other extreme, unblocked ‘lead pipe’ bowels) some substances can go thru in minutes.

From mouth to anus in minutes?

Yep. Often, the limiting factor is gravity.

Imagine a lax GI tract, with all valves pretty much open, and GI contents empty, without any bowel contraction going on to impede it. This situation arises in certain forms of gastro-enteritis and other GI toxin exposures.

Pour water in the top, it will reach the bottom at a rate more dependent on slope and incline than on any physiologic processes.

The GI docs refer to this as “lead pipe syndrome”.

Less speedy, but still quite rapid (think 10-15 minutes) are hypermobility syndromes. The stomach churns, pushing contents into the small bowel rapidly. The small bowel, irritated, pushes things along quite quickly, and when they hit the colon, it too decides it doesn’t want to waste time extracting all the water from the contents, it just wants it out!

This often happens after a viral diarrhea, which causes the bowel to slough off a lot of its surface. Ingested food is then both an irritant and a substance which pulls fluid out of the bowel, and the body’s response is to move that load through! Inadequately digested fat and irritants like capsaicin also speed this along.