How did the ancient computers in 60's era nukes aim to multiple targets?

Given the relatively primitive state of transistorized electronics in the 1960’s, how could the computer(s) in a 60’s era MIRV type missile be able to accurately pinpoint multiple targets on the fly and send off it’s multiple warheads to specific longitudes and latitudes within the range of the fuel capability?
The Wiki article doesn’t really say. Multiple independently targetable reentry vehicle

IANRS (I am no rocket scientist!) but two things occur to me. First, my memory is that proper MIRVs - multiple INDEPENDENT re-entry vehicle - were not deployed until the seventies and early microprocessors were becoming available at this time (when I was studying electronics!); and second, the complex computing was not done in real-time. The calculations were probably done on a main frame and then hard wired (or at least set up in some sort of programmable logic) into the missile - manoeuvre, separate warhead, manoeuvre, separate warhead … Only limited computation is need to respond to feedback input from the inertial navigation system in the missile.

Hopefully somebody with more knowledge will come along shortly.

IANARS either, but my Russian buddy’s dad is a professor of math in St. Petersburg. This is purely anecdotal, but he was telling me that his dad developed some marvelously elegant rocket trajectory algorithms that proved to be as accurate as the super computer simulations. Theoretically, these algorithms could be implemented by a relatively primitive state machine or computer. Well my friend has very high regard for his pops, and Stranger will be along to tell me that I’m full of shit.

In the online historical reference materials on MIRVs (which are surprisingly sparse) it indicated the MIRV was designed in the early to mid 60’s, and came on line in the early 70’s, so assumedly whatever guidance technology was to be used was available in the 60’s.