Facial and neck tattoos. Do they have problems finding jobs?

I see them more and more. Why are they suddenly popular?

Personally, I don’t give a crap. But I have to wonder… do people who get facial and neck tattoos have problems finding jobs?

Even though I couldn’t care less how a person decorates their body, I know that I could never hire someone with a facial, neck, and/or hand tattoo. But only because we work very closely with our customer base, and I know it would be off-putting to our customers.

I would imagine they do. Typically where I’ve seen that sort of thing outside of the entertainment industry is at record stores (which are rapidly going extinct) and auto repair shops. Even when I worked as a locksmith the shop I worked for made me wear long sleeves year-round because of a single tattoo on my forearm.

I saw a girl just the other day working at Subway with a tattoo on her neck behind her ear. She was quite pretty otherwise, but the tattoo kinda ruined it for me. I thought “yep, good way to ensure that you’re going to be working at Subway forever”.

I think it really depends on the company and what you will be doing for them. I work for a software company and when hiring programmers, tech support or QA (i.e. the people who never or rarely see a real live customer) our first criteria is attitude (which should be fun and possibly snarky), then knowledge (we can always teach them stuff).

How they look, assuming they don’t wear rags to the interview (which looking at my coworkers they could wear to work if hired), is moot.

However, most of my buds who are not in my industry have some pretty interesting dress codes (they have to look nice and stuff) where such things would probably not fly.

Why?

I work in insurance, which tends toward the more conservative. Several of our managers and at least one director have tons of tattoos. Included among them are at least one with full sleeves and neck work.