A question about peanut butter cookies

I’ve been meaning to start this thread for a long time, but have never actually got off my duff to do it

I am a baker, IRL, professionally, and have searched for this, but haven’t found an authoritative answer.

Why do peanut butter cookies always, and I mean every single PB cookie I’ve ever seen, have those criss-cross marks on them? Most often done with a fork, but I actually have a little wooden press from a former job, that made the pattern.

Store bought, home made, wherever, even the pictures on packages of PB cookie mix portray them with the criss-cross pattern.

Does anyone know how, where, or why this happened?

From Wikipedia, for what it’s worth, here:
The early peanut butter cookies were rolled thin and cut into shapes. They were also dropped and made into balls. They did not have fork marks. The first reference to the famous criss-cross marks created with fork tines was published in the Schenectady Gazette on July 1, 1932. The Peanut Butter Cookies recipe said “Shape into balls and after placing them on the cookie sheet, press each one down with a fork, first one way and then the other, so they look like squares on waffles.” Pillsbury, one of the large flour producers, popularized the use of the fork in the 1930s. The Peanut Butter Balls recipe in the 1933 edition of Pillsbury’s Balanced Recipes instructed the cook to press the cookies using fork tines. The 1932 or 1933 recipes do not explain why this advice is given, though: peanut butter cookie dough is dense, and without being pressed, it will not cook evenly. Using a fork to press the dough is a convenience; bakers can also use a cookie shovel.

So, Baker, what is a cookie shovel?

Um, can’t say I know what a cookie shovel is.

Thanks for the article. How come I couldn’t find that? I guess, as some say about their searches, my google fu is weak.