The internet of things

Maybe I’m not imaginative enough, but I don’t see what’s going to become so big with the internet of things. I’m sure it could be useful here and three, and a few gimmicks, but what is the big revolution going to be?

So what I’m asking for is specific examples of what it could be used for. What problems could it solve?

I sure wish it had existed when I was a shipping manager at a factory. It would have made tracking my own inventory, and the location and status of my shipments, far simpler. I also think it might change the way our automobile traffic system works.

I am (in a very small way) involved in making this happen. I design Internet-connected lighting control systems.
Basically, it’s mostly hype.
Having devices be able to talk over the Internet is pretty handy for automation and diagnostics, and that’s the “Big Win.” Having devices be able to talk to each other is mostly useless. The only people who want their refrigerator to communicate with their hot tub are Engineers (like me) - the folks who brought you such smashing successes as Pets.com. There will be some cool devices - like the Nest thermostat and alarm system, but that’s another example of a Internet-connected command and control device, which has no need to talk to your refrigerator, either.

But, I’m sure some clever folks will make a buttload of money off of it (wish it was me).

I imagine it will make crime much tougher than it is now.

beowulff, do you have any experience with interconnected street light control systems? I’ve read about LonWorks and other systems that seem to have a couple of nice features like dimming and predictive monitoring of the lamps. It sounded like a good idea from a operations and maintenance perspective.

Will it make DIY a lot easier?