1 NFC tag with multiple devices?

I have never used NFC tags before but will have some arriving soon. I have searched for the answer to this but can’t seem to find a clear answer. Can one NFC tag be programmed to work with more than one device or does it only work with one?

What I am hoping to do is use one tag to serve as part of a time and attendance system. Eventually I plan to get a biometric time clock but this idea just came to me and I’m wondering if it would work. Currently I have employees with no direct supervision logging their own hours and I’m fairly certain that there is more than a little time stealing going on. I was thinking that each employee could program their phone to send a text to my phone upon arriving to and leaving from work. I’d rather have one tag if possible to eliminate the possibility of just taking the tag home and clocking in and out from a remote location.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

I’m not an expert but have played with tags a little bit.

The ones I’ve used are not programmed, but have an ID.

You program the receiving device to perform a task when it recognizes that tag.

I hope that helps.

Thanks Gary, I have a general understanding of how they work and what can be done with them. I just want to know if one tag can be used with several devices or if each device would require its own tag to carry out the action desired.

One tag can work with many NFC device…

Its up to your app to detect the NFC tag’s ID …

However it might be a copied ID, surely someone is selling an NFC tag that can be 100% written… so its 100% a copy…

However changing the data at key times will put the fear of being caught into the employees, they won’t try to copy the data or they will be caught out doing that !

Thank you Islider, that is very helpful.