2fer1: why no jet biplanes? and another German jet Q

Is there something inherently slow about biplane design? Wouldn’t the extra lift of another wing be good for jets? Properly designed of course.
And on this site it seems that the Luftwaffe was about to be equipped with planes and missle types that weren’t in Western Air Forces for another 10 to 15 years. I know that the German aircraft researchers were very advanced, but are these plans for real? And , if they are, was there any chance in hell of an economically stressed and wartorn Germany actually equiping the Luftwaffe with these planes?

I’m not an engineer but I know enough to know that an extra wing would increase lift but it would also increase drag. Since jets are about speed, less drag is more important than more lift.

Yeah, I wondered about the drag question too. But, there are some jets with rather large wing areas. B-2 comes to mind, as do the delta wing interceptors of the late 50s and the B-58 Hustler. Even the F4 Phantom looks to have quite a big wing.

So… why not some biplane designs with swept back (or forward) thin wings?

Looking at bi-plane designs, I see a network of struts and wires connecting the two wings. Even a relatively modern overhead wing small plane (think Pipers or Cessnas) has a rather large strut on each side of the fuselage.

While I am not an aircraft engineer (the first time I’ve used THAT disclaimer) I’ll wager that a bi-plane design must keep the wings from flexing independently of each other, and even an overhead wing design has to have extra reinforcement.

The stresses exerted by a jet engine must be much more severe than a piston engine. Struts and wires not only add to drag, they had an unfortunate tendency to break in the old bi-planes. It’s probably a case where a low-wing design is inherently more stable, unless you have a plane as big as the C5A, where you can add more internal supports.