35mm Film Photography Question (enlargement)

We all know the limitations of digital cameras. Once you purchase your camera, the number of megapixels determine (mostly) how large of a legible print you can make. However, I realized I know nothing about how big one can print from film.

Simply put, how large of a print can be made using 35mm film? How large is feasible in a normally equipped darkroom? Does the type of film make any difference?

I am only an amateur photog, and it’s been a few years since I’ve been in a darkroom. That being said, here’s what my experience in the matter tells me.
You can blow up the photo as large as you can find paper to print it to. The process works by passing light through the negative and onto the paper, so depending on how far away the paper is from the light source, the larger the image will be. Think of a film projector–projected onto a wall two feet away = small picture, onto a screen 100 yards away = huge picture. Now, depending on the clarity in your negative, the larger you get the more noticible certain flaws might be, but there won’t be any degradation inherent to the image.

Clarity in the negative itself can depend on a number of factors, including the type of film used, the available lighting, how well it was focused, and the type of lens on the camera. Macro lenses are made especially to take very tight, close-up photos and I’d imagine you could blow up a picture taken with a macro much larger than one taken with a standard lens without any noticible effects.

In a normally equipped darkroom, I’d guess you couldn’t print larger than poster-board sized or so without special equipment or creative positioning. This is, however, only a guess. The darkroom I worked in was pretty basic, and the largest I could get there was 12 x 16.

Maybe a pro will come along and be able to expand on this for you, I’m curious now too!