3D Printing Guns

NYTimes article - behind a pay wall:

Notable quotes:

I rarely hang out in GD,but assume this OP would belong here. I’m not even sure where a debate on this should head - I am just trying to envision some rebel base like it was out of a movie, where a ragged set of fighters, with access to a pieced-together set of hardware, printing out disposable 1-shots and, coupled with swarming drones also built on the cheap, having the ability to influence power in local and perhaps broader ways.

Maybe the debate would be: how likely is a vision like this to play out, and on what scale, ie local eruptions in specific geographies or chained into something bigger?

Guns, Drugs and 3D printers- Straight Dope Message Board

Ah, thanks!

I’m no expert in 3D printing, but from what I have read on the subject the printers aren’t capable yet. The problem isn’t making the gun in the right shape, but rather producing out of a material that will allow the powerful forces produced by a cartridge. The material is not strong enough to be used in the chamber of a weapon. Of course with technology getting better everyday I am sure that any limitations will be overcome in a matter of time. But, we have the technology now to prevent color copiers and printers from printing copies of money, surely a feature could be designed into these printers to keep them from making a gun. That would be the logical thing to do.

My reading on this has convinced me that:

1. Despite press headlines implying otherwise, being able to print a “component” is nothing like being able to print a gun.
  2. 3D printing technology is nowhere near being able to print a gun.
  3. Creating a AR lower receiver is pretty trivial.
  4. Creating a functional firearm is pretty trivial, especially if you only need it to fire once.

Conclusion: it’s all a tempest in a teapot.